Crisis Center of Russell County


Shelia - Executive Director


Shelia has worked for over 28 years in numerous leadership roles in the social justice arena and continues to provide leadership in areas related to equality, women’s rights, education and advocacy. This led her to become involved in the fields of domestic violence and sexual assault where she has strived to help end violence and abuse for many years. Ms. Trapp believes that all people deserve the right to self-determination, self-sufficiency, and to live life in peace. 

Ms. Trapp has natural skills in capacity building and has served on numerous committees and activism groups working towards community and systems level changes. Ms. Trapp is an authentic public servant that inspires others to do great things. She believes that it is ordinary people who do extraordinary things and that she is simply one of those ordinary people.

Ms. Trapp is a native of New Jersey with a commitment to lifelong learning. She has a BA degree in Sociology and holds masters degrees in both Organizational Management and Theology. Ms. Trapp completed a doctoral program in 2009 in which her dissertation and research in public servant leadership cultivates her own leadership practices and style. She is a Certified Public Manager and the author of several books. We believe that she will lead the organization in doing great things to address the needs of victims of domestic violence and sexual assault in our community.

Dana - Office & Programs Supervisor

Dana is a management professional with more than 30 years of experience in the corporate environment, including 1 year in non-profit management. She received an associate degree in science in 2005 and is working on her Bachelor’s in Business Administration degree. Mrs. Dolly joined the Crisis Center of Russell County as the Office/Programs Supervisor in 2017 and is responsible for the overall operations of the agency’s programs.  Mrs. Dolly is currently a member of the board of directors of the Alabama Coalition Against Rape and a program council member of the Alabama Coalition Against Domestic Violence.  

Board of Directors

Stephen B. Cooper, DC - Board President

Cindy Conner - Vice President

Theri Brooks - Treasurer

April Logan-Russell, Esq. - Secretary

Robert Cole

Donna Fleitas, PhD

Suzanne Tew-Washburn

Sheriff Heath Taylor

Daniel Blevins

Community Support

Churches list


Your Questions answered here